The Short Story…

The short story because I’m oh-so-exhausted…. I started feeling weird over the weekend and we walked around the baseball game all afternoon on Sunday with the girls. I chalked up my icky feelings that night to over-walking myself… Monday, I felt worse but figured my back hurt just because of all that walking. My belly was sore, too, so I figured I’d give myself a whole day to rest up and by Tuesday I’d feel better.

Not. So. Much.

Tuesday I could hardly walk down the stairs because I was in so much pain. My lower back, my stomach – it all hurt so much. My doctor’s office told me I should go directly to Labor & Delivery at the hospital (GASP!!!!)…. So, the babysitter came over & off Hubby and I went to L&D. I was so afraid. 16 weeks 4 days is WAY TOO EARLY to be in labor. WTF….

They checked me in and ran some tests and as it turns out I’ve got a UTI. GROSS. YUCK. EW. WHAT?!!?!?! EW. EW. I’m totally grossed out by that fact, glad that the source of my excruciating pain has been found but grossed out nonetheless. I take good care of myself and my ‘lady parts’ so… needless to say, I’m bummed I’ve developed this infection. I guess it’s common for pregnant women to contract UTI’s??? The nurse started me on some cranberry juice while we waited for my doc to write a Rx.

Sure enough, up came the cranberry juice into a complimentary wet umbrella bag outside of the hospital before Hubby could pull the car around. Boo. We got home & I pretty much fell asleep. I tried some more cranberry juice later that night and I can pretty much safely say I will never drink it ever again as my second attempt turned out just as ‘well’ as the first… everything landing in the sink. I didn’t even make it to the toilet. Not only was I not keeping down liquids (read: I’m getting more dehydrated as the minutes tick on…) I wasn’t even keeping down the meds. I threw up all day, all night, and all morning. Violently. It was terrible. I thought I might be dying. Really. I thought my head was going to EXPLODE.

My doctor changed my Rx the next morning and I’ve been going okay ever since. Okay, other than the INSANE headaches I’ve had – a direct result of me not being able to drink anything because sitting up hurts my head too much. A vicious, really sucky, painful cycle. ICK. I couldn’t sit up to drink, I was so sick I didn’t feel like drinking, I haven’t been eating… you get the drill. We were supposed to be at my cousin’s wedding this weekend in Colorado. I’m totally bummed we didn’t get to go on account of this infection but there was no way I was dragging myself across the country in this condition. No way.

This was all on Tuesday. It’s now Friday, and I was finally able to move out of bed and downstairs to the couch this morning. It’s been hard being away from the girls but I’ve really needed the rest. I’ve still got my headaches but have been able to drink a little bit more today so that’s helpful.

I will write again when I’m up and at ’em. This pregnancy is certainly turning out to be more difficult than the other one I had…with twins. What’s that about? They’re not kidding when they say every pregnancy is different.

Oh, and I’m 17 weeks!! Whoopie!!! 🙂

OH – AND BIG NEWS -> Juniper went poopy in the potty today!!! She motioned to us that she felt like pooping and said “yeah” when we asked her if she needed to poop. Sure enough, she actually went on the potty!!! We’re soooooooooo very proud of her. I know there will be many setbacks after this but now that she’s done it once… we’re over one hurdle. I hope Magnolia catches on, I can tell she really wants to do it, too. 🙂

(And this really was the “short story”. LI ->Laughing Inside.. because my head hurts too much to actually LOL.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

