Halfway There!!!

I’m 20 weeks today!!!!!

Baby has been moving A LOT lately. This is of course, awesome. πŸ™‚ Hubby has managed to catch a few punches & kicks but for the most part, Baby waits until his hand is off my stomach to continue moving. Silly Baby. πŸ™‚ According to Babycenter.com my baby is about the size of a banana from head to toe. That’s so BIG!!! I hope he or she is growing well in there.

I’m getting bigger. I think I weighed 118 at my last appointment. This, I am appalled by, but I guess this is how pregnancy goes. I hope to be back below my pre-pregnancy weight by April (95-105, hey I’m little!). Hubby says that I’ll be back to normal a month after I’m done healing from the c-section. We’ll see about that. It’s nice that he’s so optimistic but I’m not buying it. Haha. πŸ™‚

I’m pretty sure, not positive, that I’m going to elect to have a c-section again. My doctor said I could go ahead with a VBAC… part of me wants to, the other part says no. I’m just not sure. I had the c-section with the twins for several reasons, mainly that I wasn’t progressing past 7cm after 18 1/2 hours of labor (14 1/2 of which were spent without drugs, I didn’t need them then either but… I was tricked into thinking I did, long story…), and that Baby A (Juniper) became very distressed and they thought the best option would be to take them out ASAP. We laugh now about that last one because Junie sure is our baby that gets frustrated easily. I’m not surprised she got upset during labor. πŸ™‚

So I have a decision to make about that. I really hate the idea of choosing my baby’s birthday. I want it to come when it’s ready to come out, you know? And being due Jan 1st, that means I’d have to choose a date between Christmas & New Years. What a crummy time for a birthday! If the baby came naturally, maybe it would come when it was supposed to -> January 1st. What a lovely day, I think. πŸ™‚

So if I have to choose a date, which date do I pick? I’m leaning towards Dec 27-30th. I don’t want to do it Dec 26th for obvious reasons. And no offense to my offspring but New Years Eve is one of my two favorite holidays and I don’t want to feel badly about leaving my child on its birthday every year so I can party. Seriously, it’s one of two days a year that I actually let go & have fun! πŸ™‚ SO…. I’m left with Dec 27th-Dec 30th. The 27th is on a Sunday, a nice day to be born but then my Hubby would have to take the WHOLE week off work (well, most of it anyways… I suppose he could make some service calls between hanging out with me at the hospital – yes, I’m one of those who want their Hubby there as much as possible during my stay). So, thinking of his work (he works for his dad, so really it wouldn’t matter anyways…but still…) then Dec 30th (a Wednesday) would be the best day to choose because we could schedule it later in the day so he could work in the morning, and only have Thurs/Fri off, and then hopefully I’ll be back home by Sunday. I have no idea what to do.

And then there’s the VBAC. I WANTED to have the girls naturally – no drugs, no surgery, etc. That didn’t work out in my favor so this is my chance to do it. How COOL it would be!!! However. What if I didn’t progress again past the 7cm. What if something went wrong and my vag was destroyed forever? I’d be disappointed. What if something went wrong and I had to have an emergency c-section? I’d be disappointed. My friends who have had children naturally (ie. With drugs and Through the vag) (okay, there are three of them) – all had horrific births. Okay, maybe horrific isn’t the right word. One baby came out practically sideways, another girl had a TON of stitches, one just had a very unpleasant time. They said everything goes back to normal but… I’m not sure I buy that. My c-section was no fun recovering from… but to risk sharing too much information, I’m still super duper tight & I want my vag to stay that way. So does Hubby. πŸ™‚

Any thoughts regarding birth days, scheduling c-sections, and VBACs?

Braxton Hicks – I’ve been having them. Since 18 1/2 weeks. It’s not all the time, probably twice to three times a day & three or four days a week. Of course, they come more often when I’m out running errands, or home cleaning the floors instead of resting. I just CAN’T sit and do nothing these days. It was easier when I was pregnant with the twins to just sit around and be lazy. But now, there’s always stuff to clean up, laundry to do, cups to wash, little girls to entertain…. I really like getting them out of the house and since we’ll be in the house much more when the baby comes, I feel like I need to get them out as much as possible until then. I’ll probably go into labor at Nordstroms if I keep this up. Anyways, I thought Braxton Hicks came later. I did a little research and it’s possible to have them sooner with second & later pregnancies… I’ll mention this to my doctor next time but it’s only slightly concerning as I’m having dull low back pain as well. That is a pre-labor sign. But I ALWAYS have the dull low back pain, not only when the BH’s come… so I’m not sure. Is this normal pregnant stuff, or pre-labor stuff?? Who knows. I’m trying not to let it concern me, but like I said, I’ll mention it to the doctor next time. I don’t want the baby to come TOO early. A little early is okay but I’m still only 20 weeks along and this muffin has some more cooking to do. πŸ™‚

We find out August 31st if its a boy or a girl! And we’ll have the big ultrasound that day to determine number of arms, legs, heads, etc… We’re hoping it has two working kidneys as Magnolia only had one working one in utero and her second non-working kidney never developed and has since disappeared from her body. (The one working one is doing much better, I’m not sure if I ever wrote about that. If not, I should put that on my list of things to write about…hm….) However, we’re much better prepared this time for kidney issues are we’re more familiar with it. That’s the good part about having a second baby with kidney issues – it won’t be as scary! A little scary, but not as much as the first time around.

I can’t wait for everything. πŸ™‚

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Halfway There!!!

  1. keagansmom

    I happened across your blog and I couldn’t read without commenting…

    I’d suggest checking out your local ICAN chapter or their website http://www.ican-online.org/

    I’ve had two vaginal births and everything’s the same down there. πŸ™‚

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

