30 Weeks Down, 10 (?) To Go!

*I started this post on Tuesday … and am now coming back to finish it …

Tomorrow I will be 30 weeks pregnant.

WHAT?!?!?!?!??!

That’s so crazy! Hubby said to me tonight “So you basically have ten weeks left?” Looks at my stomach… “Nah, you won’t go ten weeks.”

And I’m thinking he’s right! I never thought I’d make it to 40 weeks, I’ve been saying for a long time that Snowdrop is coming Thanksgiving weekend. I just hope that if that’s true, she waits until I’ve finished gorging myself on Turkey & the Fixin’s. Haha. 🙂

A few days ago, my belly button split. EW. What? Yeah, it split. Like, I had a cut on my belly… I used to have it pierced (used as in from ages 18-22 (21?)) and took it out after college. It is still in the healing process, I hope someday it will fully close up. I don’t regret having the piercing but I’m glad I no longer have it. 🙂 Anyways, so I’ve now got this cut on my belly right below the top piercing hole. It’s about 5mm long. I’ve also got a major stretchmark there from my first pregnancy that seems to have grown since the last time…

Picking up from Tuesday – so the cut on my belly button has healed since I started this post. Yay! I’ve had a busy week. I FINALLY picked out the carpet for Snowdrop’s room. The rest of our house has hardwood but the third floor where Snowdrop will be (it’s one room that spans the whole house, approx 495 square feet up there!) was just painted plywood – so we HAD to invest in something. Carpet it is! It’s a good thing because it will quiet down the house a bit (the 3rd floor is pretty much open to below) & will make the room nice and cozy! Picking a color was really hard. I’ve been “told” that I need to pick a neutral color (ie: tan or cream) so that we get a better chance of resale value… that’s all nice & smart but I’m not really a neutral kind of gal. I wanted a pretty green – it’s my favorite color and I thought something along the lines of “sage” or light green would work with the room. But in the best interests of resale, I chose to go with something “neutral”. I struggled with picking a carpet for someone else’s tastes while trying to match it to our paint while trying to pick something that I could live with until we sell the house. We’re not even sure WHEN we’re going to move – we just know it will be some point in the next 2 1/2 years. I went back to the store with all my samples and asked the woman there what her opinion was. She told me that green really IS a neutral color and that it was very likely that the carpet color itself wasn’t going to deter someone from buying our home. So, I chose a very light creamy green color figuring that would pretty much please everyone. The green tint was almost unnoticeable. So I leave & set about my errands for the day….

So the gal calls me back the next day to say the color I picked is back-ordered until Nov 11th! I don’t know about you but in my experience, everything I’ve ever had back-ordered always gets pushed back & back & back – and we can’t really take that chance being that Snowdrop is coming sometime in the next 10 weeks. So I went back to the carpet place & picked the green I wanted and it will be in next week. I’m so excited!! I wasn’t about to bring more samples back to our house and I took the back-ordering as a sign that I should go ahead and get the color I wanted. So I did. We’re paying $1600 for it (YIKES! I KNOW!!!) so I might as well get something I love, right? The carpet should be in next week and we’ll be able to schedule an installation date once it arrives. I can’t wait! Once the carpet is in, we can start setting up the furniture, etc.

The nursery painting is going well… other than the red stripes. We totally f-d up on them. We didn’t know that with red (and especially when doing stripes) you need to pull the tape up right away in order for the red to not bleed. The ENTIRE set of red stripes throughout the room bled under the tape and looks… well, awful. The rest of the room is stellar, totally professional looking, but the red… looks like we didn’t even use tape. Lesson Learned, I guess. So now we’ve got to make the red stripes a little larger to accommodate for the spillage and re-tape the whole room. Apparently, we also need to re-tape with each coat & if you’ve ever painted red you already know it takes many coats to get it right. Hopefully we can get all this done ASAP. We need to! 🙂

I really have more to write but I’m EXHAUSTED and thus, am going to bed.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

