We were exposed to the Swine…

Oink Oink.

So on Tuesday, we went to my friend’s house for a playdate. Within twenty minutes of arriving, her sister called to say that she was at the doctor’s office waiting for results of a flu test. They knew she had A flu but they didn’t know which flu it she had caught.

Oh, great. Friend’s sister had been at my friend’s house on Saturday (three days earlier) for a party… Needless to say, we high-tailed it out of her house, came home and went right up to the shower where all three of us girls hopped in and soaped up. Twice. 🙂

I’m a big germ-a-phobe, and it’s been increasingly worse since I’ve been pregnant. So after our shower, I disinfected the door handles, the floors, the carpet, the hallway, the staircase, etc – anything we had crossed paths with when we came home.

I really don’t want to get sick!!! I also don’t want to buy into the hype of the whole Swine Flu thing… but they keep reporting pregnant women are dying from this. Naturally, I’m frightened by this. That because some idiot decided to go to the grocery store even though they’re sick – I might die as a result of their negligence? YIKES.

Anyways, so my friend’s sister DOES have the SWINE FLU!!! We’re feeling fine so far (knock on wood). I’ve been feeling a little fatigued but that’s usually par for the pregnancy course. As of this morning, no fevers, no sore throats, or coughing. Hopefully we’ve escaped being infected.

I now have the tough decision of deciding whether or not to attend Halloween at the same friend’s house. We weren’t planning on letting the girls get candy from anyone (they’re only two after all) or go up to doors this year anyways because of all the flues going around. But now I’m wondering if we should scratch the whole idea of attending a ‘party’ all together. It might be the safest option. Yes, I know her house probably doesn’t have the germs anymore. Yes, I’ll feel like a paranoid freak. Yes, I’ll feel like a bad mommy for not bringing my kids out on Halloween…. but let’s face it. They’re only two, it’s not like they know that most kids go trick-or-treating.

Plus, it might be nice just to lay low and keep an eye on our house. You KNOW I don’t trust the neighborhood hooligans. (And no, if we stay home we will NOT be handing out candy. It’s not the young kids on our block, it’s the rest of the kids in the neighborhood who have certainly proven they don’t deserve any candy. Hooligans.)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “We were exposed to the Swine…

  1. I know what you mean about the whole swine flu thing. Hubby-honey and I had the flu shot but we’re old people (57 (him) and 62 (me) ) and don’t have pregnancy or children worries except grandkids (it’s not the same). I don’t know what I’d do if I were pregnant during this time. Well, all you can do is take care of yourself and your unborn sweetpea. I’ll think happy thoughts for you too. (Always helps, I swear.)

    I wonder if we’re going to have any kids this year. It’s really too bad this whole thing has to interrupt their fun but I’d hate to have them wander from house to house when it’s unknown what’s lurking inside flu-wise that is.

    Wish you the very best of luck.

Leave a Reply

