Question of the Week: What are your favorite Christmas cookie recipes?

Question of the Week: What are your favorite Christmas cookie recipes?

I’m sorry I really don’t have the energy to track down actual recipes and post them here. I promise if that I can remember, and when I have time, I will come back and add a post with the recipes so everyone can enjoy these! 🙂

That being said… my favorite Christmas Cookie Recipes are:

Those cream cheese cookies… And they are delicious. My MIL made them this year with sprinkles on top and seriously, they are amazing. And probably contributed to my weight gain this week.

My friend’s mom makes pinwheel cookies. And I love them. And now they are sold at the bakery at which I used to work – that’s how good they are. 🙂

I’m a big fan of anything with peppermint, chocolate, crushed candy cane, coconut, etc.

Buck-Eye Balls, a specialty of my MIL’s… a favorite of my Hubby. They’re peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate. And yummy.

****************************************************************

I used to be a fan of the cut-out cookies we’d make as kids with my parents. When I got married and asked my mom for the recipe she confessed to me that she used the pre-made dough from the store (ala Pillsbury, etc) and just pretended all these years that she had made it.

A. This of course, disappointed me to no end.

B. Really? I mean… Really???

C. I don’t know if I can believe her or not on this one. This IS the same woman who wouldn’t share her Chili recipe with me because it was June and “You can’t make chili in the summertime.” (Of course, I HAD been asking for the recipe since the previous Fall… AND I was pregnant at the time. I just wanted some freakin’ chili.) And this is the same woman who won’t share ANY of her other recipes with me either, leading my younger sisters to secretly make copies of recipes from her recipe book, hide the pages in their suitcases, and hand-deliver the recipes to me when they come to the Little City for visits. Yes. This is seriously my life. My mother is batty. I’m sometimes (ok, often) thankful that I’m adopted and not related by genetics to her.

******************************************************************

I’m still looking for that perfect cut-out cookie recipe to pass on to my daughters.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

