$10,875.60

$10,875.60.

This is approximately the amount of money it will cost us to send Juniper & Magnolia to private pre-school for the 2010/2011 school year. (I say approximate because I am not a skilled mathematician.)

Because we live in the city of the Little City, public schools are not an option. Well, they’re an option but not one we’d ever want to take. The public schools in the city here are horrendous. Plus, we’re Catholic and we’d really like our kids to attend Catholic schools. We’d need to move to the “ritzy” area of the Little City in order to send our kids to a public school. I’m not trying to offend anyone – it’s just that the public schools around here really suck.

$10,875.60. Which, of course, is not money that we are able to spare. Perhaps I’ll start looking into homeschooling. That would be the least expensive option for us. Would I be able to handle it though is the question. I’m a college graduate. For a couple years I studied Early Childhood Education – not that this qualifies me to teach children… but it’s certainly a leg up, right? I’m a high-stress person. By adding “school” to the list of things I need to do, am I over-scheduling myself? I had really been looking forward to having the kids in school so I could have more time to complete household tasks without interruption. Also so I’d have more time for me. I know, that sounds so selfish! But a Happy Rested Mom is a Good Mom in my opinion.

*sigh* While I would NEVER trade our twins in for a singleton, and while I know we are SO LUCKY to be blessed with twins (oh! AND a singleton!:)) and the ability to have our own children… I can’t help but think how easy it would be to just have one child. How inexpensive one child would be. We can afford to send one kid to preschool, but – haha – it’s not like we could draw a name out of hat and say “oh sorry, child #2, you can’t go to school.” And since they’re not identical we couldn’t send one on Tuesday and one on Thursday, right? (Haha – yeah, I know that’s not possible either!)

There’s the obvious “Why don’t YOU get a job?”. Why don’t I? It’s a great idea. Problem is, we’d need to pay for daycare while I was working… and that would use up all the money I’d be making so… we still wouldn’t be able to afford school. Gosh! It’s a crazy circle.

So, currently we’re trying to figure out where to come up with $10,875.60 for two days a week, six hours per day pre-school.

Do you have any get rich quick schemes? You know, other than robbing a bank? HAHAHAHA 🙂

UPDATE: We’ve come up with a list to save money:

1. Breastfeed longer (we’ll see how that goes)

2. Cut Down on Organic Foods: Only give girls Organic Milk & Meats; only buy Organics if it’s a good price. Otherwise, they’ll be fine eating non-organic carrots. Right? Right. 🙂

3. Bundle our DirecTV and ATT to save money on phone/internet/cable (Found out we need to disconnect both and then get a new account in order to bundle…a pain in the butt however this will save us at least $10/month.)

4. Become Electric Nazis: I know, I shouldn’t use the word Nazi as it might be offensive to some people. I mean it in more of the Seinfeld Soup Nazi sort of way. That we’d become obsessive with turning off lights and the tv, and unplugging electronics that we aren’t using. I’m not giving up on our outside lights at night though. Not in this neighborhood.

5. No Eating Out. No Exceptions. Like today: Instead of enjoying a lunch out with my Hubby (and Snowdrop) while the girls are at Grandma’s house, I made him a grilled cheese instead. I’m such a nice wife.

6. No Trips. I’m pretty sure this will be an easy one although I’m also pretty sure that my Hubby has something up his sleeve regarding Bonnaroo. We agreed not to go… but he had something in his email about Bonnaroo that he wouldn’t let me see. I saw the Inbox so I know he’s up to something. And although I know his password, I’m going to go for the surprise instead of ruining it for myself – and for him. He loves to surprise me. Also, we can make my family come down from the Big City instead of going up there. 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “$10,875.60

  1. David

    If I had a vote, I’d say home-school as long as you’re able. Another option would be for you to get a job in the school where they go on the days that they go. You could stay organic if you bought organic flour and made your bread and pasta by hand…I would also have to say, maybe, get rid of the DirecTV, for now. Also, ground beef at Costco is relatively cheap, and so is chuck beef, and chicken. And pray. God will help you.
    And yes! Be a utilities nazi. Unplug. We saved $100/month by doing that.
    I know a family of 10-2 adults and 8 children, they make do on one income, homeschool and prayer. No cable at all, a cell phone that’s pay as you go.

    I’ll keep you in my prayers. God bless.

  2. David

    Oh! and possibly find a way to work at home-there’s lots of things you can do on the computer in your spare time. Look into travel agent or medical transcriptionist.

Leave a Reply

