Circus Fun and Other Randoms

We took the girls to the circus on Saturday morning – well, Hubby’s parents bought the tickets so technically I guess they took us. My MIL had gotten two free children’s tickets but when she and my FIL looked up the seats and realized we’d be sitting in the nosebleed section… they decided to buy us seats! Dead center, fifth row, and on the best side of the ring! Awesome!! It was a three ring circus, complete with white tigers, elephants, clowns, bike-riding brown bears, acrobats on the flying trapeze, and of course The Flying Walendas. Did I spell that right?

We were suprised at the number of small children (um, 3, 4, 5, 7 and an 8 year old!) that were performing with their families. I guess when your parent is a circus performer you tend to become one, too! It made me really nervous when the little ones were up high on the tight-rope or on top of their parents shoulders but… it was still all a lot of fun!

The girls were both really shy at first but after about half hour they got into it. Junie’s favorite part was the elephants. Mags liked riding the horsies. (At Intermission they had elephant and pony rides. $10/kid for twice around the ring. Highway robbery, but when Gigi and Papa are paying for it what are we to say? The girls had a blast! I’m pretty sure they want us to buy a pony for our house. Oh, and Mags liked the clowns too. One of them gave her a sticker. That made her very happy.

Snowdrop behaved very well at the circus! No surprise there. I changed a poopy diaper on my seat and nursed her during the intermission and right after the show while the girls rode ponies. To my surprise, no one bothered me about it. I don’t know – I guess I’ve just heard a lot about people nursing in public and getting hassled about it. Not one person bugged me. I mean, I had myself covered very well anyways, nary a nip-slip for me. YAY! 🙂

Other randoms… Let’s see….

One of my sisters is seriously thinking she’ll end up at the university in our city (the same one Hubby and I attended) – so that’s really exciting. We’ll have a reputable babysitter and I’ll get to see my sister more often. I’m really happy and I really hope she ends up here.

I’ve been researching Hubby’s family history online. I need to ask his grandfather for some info to help me over a couple hurdles – I hope he can remember some stuff!! 🙂 Ancestry.com charges a TON of money for their service so I’ve been going it alone on the free sites. I’ve found more information than I thought I’d be able to so that’s been good. I’m contemplating seeing if any of my friends would be interested in going in together on a membership for Ancestry.com so that we’d save money and still be able to research.

The girls have been into Jello bigtime lately! We keep telling them that it’s really expensive so it’s a special treat. Haha. It’s not organic, no, but it’s yummy and comes in fun colors and is super-duper-cheap.

I decided I wanted to “wear my baby”. Moby wraps are WAY TOO EXPENSIVE and slings are not good (in my opinion and experience, this has nothing to do with recent news reports about suffocation). So upon some Interwebs research (gosh, do I love the Internet), I found out how to make my own. I bought five yards of stretchy-knit fabric and voila! I had a baby-wrap. I LOVE it. LOVE it. LOVE it. It makes life just that much easier when I want to do something that would otherwise require me to put the baby down. Like, unloading the dishwasher. Putting food on plates for the girls. Cleaning the countertops. Typing a post for my blog… 🙂 I’m really enjoying it and I’m positive Snowdrop is as well. She’s drooling on my chest as I type, in a deep and glorious slumber.

I guess that’s it for now.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

