Question of the Week: Child Leashes, Yay or Nay?

How do you feel about child harnesses?

We don’t use child harnesses but that’s only because every time we go to buy them… I figure I should save the money instead of spending it. I mean, we rarely take the girls out anyways so why would we need leashes? That said… I’m a fan of them and wish we had them because I think it would be nice for when we did take them out. Like, on walks around the neighborhood for example. Before Snowdrop was born, we could each “take” a kid and have a nice walk around our ‘hood’ while keeping on eye on whoever was under our charge for the walk. I think they really enjoyed walking by themselves and being able to pick up leaves, rocks, and flowers.

I don’t think they are an example of laziness – what’s lazy about following your kid on a lease? Wouldn’t it be easier (lazier) to have the kids strapped up in a stroller so you don’t have to “walk” them or worry about what their little hands are touching? Or lazier to not take them out at all?

I’m all for leashes. Maybe I’ll get one for Snowdrop when she gets older.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Question of the Week: Child Leashes, Yay or Nay?

  1. I agree with you and use a child harness (shaped like a Mickey backpack) on my 2yo son. It makes me sad that some mothers think it’s lazy to use them.

Leave a Reply

