The Belated Mother’s Day Weekend Recap

WOW. SO. It’s been awhile since I posted last. I think it was before Mother’s Day or shortly thereafter. We spent Mother’s Day weekend and this past weekend out of town so things have been BUSY and MORE BUSY and I haven’t really had the chance to sit down and type. In fact, Snowdrop is calling me to get her out of her jumperoo right now. But I’m leaving her in there because the pediatrician told us it was time for her to start self-soothing. She’s not crying yet but as long as she’s just “fussy” I know I need to leave her in there. There’s hardly much worse than a child that can’t soothe themself so… soothe-training, here we are!

Mother’s Day Weekend…. we spent at Hubby’s parents’ lakehouse. It’s about an hour drive from where we live (prob a little less) and is quite lovely. I mean, it’s not fancy or anything but it’s also not a dive. Hubby’s dad and grandpa built it years & years ago – and when I say they built it, I mean they dug the foundation built it. Right up from the ground. It was one of the first homes in the community. Anyways, it sits on a lake and they just got a new boat this year. Now wait a second – before you go thinking our trees grow money, they don’t. Their old boat was over 27 years old and had FINALLY kicked the bucket. So they got a new boat. The motor on this new boat is HUGE – we call it my FIL’s “MidLife Crisis Motor”, hahahaha. The boat is smaller and faster than the old pontoon. And currently nameless. We joked that it should be called “The Grandson”. It was pretty funny for a bit but… then got to be not-so-funny when Hubby really started to contemplate that he might never provide his father with a real grandson. (Hubby is the son of an only-son of an only-son of… well, six generations of ONLY-A-SON and here we are with THREE GIRLS!) (I still think it’s funny.)

My In-Laws have neighbors at the lakehouse – the ones on the right side, we never see. The ones on the left side are pretty close family friends. The husband and my FIL are really good buddies – the guy’s wife? …. Well. She’s nice but is one of those people that asks too many questions, offers very unsolicited advice, and generally believes SHE is always RIGHT. We all know people like that. She REFUSED to wash her hands before holding Snowdrop – and I was too tired to cause a stir so I just let her hold the baby without washing her hands. NEXT TIME, she’ll have to wash her hands if she wants to hold my children. AND she’ll have to put down the booze. She’s always been a drinker (I mean, isn’t anyone who lives full time at a lakehouse?) but apparently, per hush-hush with my MIL, she’s been drinking a lot lately. Like, bottle of Jack under the sewing machine drinking… which isn’t a good thing. She was pretty tanked this weekend and it made me really uncomfortable. My parents (and extended family for that matter) aren’t big drinkers and it’s rare if they’re even tipsy (which would lead to a great story about my parents activities this past weekend while we were visiting them. I’ll provide a link to the post here after I create it.), so I’m just not very used to be around drunk elders.

Anyways. So the new boat. The girls were really excited to take a ride so of course we went out for a long ride on the lake. I wasn’t keen about bringing Snowdrop even though we have a lifejacket just for her. However, although Drunky offered to watch the baby while we went on the boat ride – I felt less comfortable leaving her with my child. Right? So Snowdrop came with us! I really didn’t want her to and I was nervous pretty much the whole ride. She loved it though and slept through the whole thing. Even the part when my FIL sped up to about 68mph…. which I was not happy about. It seems a little too fast for my 2 year olds and 4 month old. They loved it though! It will be fun this summer when we can pull them around on the tubes in the “lagoon”. Hubby laughs because I call it a “lagoon”… it’s like an inlet or something that the house sits on.

So on the way out there… Hubby and I were pretty much at each other’s throats. Something about me wanting to download and analyze the photos from our video camera and it taking forever, thus we weren’t going to end up getting out to the lake until much later than he expected. Whatever. I’m over it now. He was pissed at me and *I believe* purposely neglected to tell me that a certain stretch of road was heavily policed. I was blowing past everyone else and didn’t notice the State Police SUV I was about to pass. Haha. He promptly pulled me over. I felt so stupid – really. SO I was going 82 in a 65 – not unheard of – and because it was a zero tolerance zone I had to get a ticket. The guy was REALLY NICE though so at least I had that going for me. I hate when cops are jerks when they pull you over for speeding. I mean, it’s not like I was driving dangerously on top of speeding. I was just speeding. Anywho, he could have been a jerk but he wasn’t and that was pleasant. I actually thanked him for my ticket – who does that? Haha. Me. 🙂 Now I have to go to court and get the whole thing fixed for various reasons that I won’t go into (mainly because it would divulge the state in which we live and that goes against my blog rules).

My MIL also walked in on me nursing Snowdrop. I was totally topless from the waist up, laying down on the bed. I had told Hubby that I was going in there to feed the baby so he would know to watch the girls and to keep others from entering our room. MIL keeps the baby toys in our room so when the girls started hassling her about things to do – she thought she’d bring them into our room to get them some toys. Of course, Hubby was too busy watching the ballgame to remember that he was also supposed to be protecting me. I KNEW when I heard her voice and the girls’ footsteps that they were headed into the room. I swung my arm around my bosums JUST IN THE NICK OF TIME and said “HI!” It was so awkward. And she was frozen for what seemed like an hour before she stumbled out “Oh gosh, sorry! I didn’t know.” I was just like “It’s fine!” while inside I was preparing my strategy to strangle my husband. Haha. 

The girls keep asking to go back there. I’m glad they love it as much as we do! We made it home without any more speeding tickets. :)d

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Belated Mother’s Day Weekend Recap

  1. jungletwins

    Wow, that’s quite a weekend! Drunken neighbors, police car, breastfeeding walk-in- sounds like an action packed few days. Glad you had fun though- sounds like a blast!

Leave a Reply

